Guides

Pay Estimated Tax by Card or Digital Wallet: Fees

Checked October 17, 2026 · Educational summary

General information, not tax, legal or financial advice. We are not the IRS. Check IRS.gov or a qualified tax professional. Sources read on October 17, 2026. Dates and amounts after 2026 are expected and may change. Examples use made-up numbers. This page contains no affiliate links.

you can make most tax payments to the IRS, including estimated tax, with a debit or credit card or a digital wallet such as PayPal or Venmo, through an IRS-approved third-party processor. The processor, not the IRS, charges a fee. The next estimated tax payment for the final 2026 period is expected to be due Friday, January 15, 2027.

Fees listed on the IRS page (as of October 17, 2026)

Processor Debit card Credit card Digital wallets listed
Pay1040 $2.15 1.75% ($2.50 minimum) PayPal, Click-to-Pay
ACI Payments $2.10 1.85% ($2.50 minimum) PayPal, Venmo, Click-to-Pay
The IRS lists commercial card fees of 2.89% (Pay1040) and 2.95% (ACI Payments), each with a $2.50 minimum. If you pay while e-filing your return, different card fees apply, according to the IRS. Fees can change; check the IRS page on the day you pay.

Example (made-up numbers)

A freelancer pays a $4,000 estimated payment by personal credit card. At 1.75% the listed fee would be $70; at 1.85% it would be $74. A debit card would cost about $2.10 to $2.15. Paying from a bank account through IRS Direct Pay is the free alternative described elsewhere on this site.

Other points from the IRS page

  • Payment vouchers are not required if you pay by card.
  • No part of the fee goes to the IRS. The IRS says card processing fees are tax deductible for businesses; ask a professional how this applies to you.
  • Your statement lists the payment as "United States Treasury Tax Payment" and the fee as "Tax Payment Convenience Fee" or something similar.
  • To cancel a payment, contact the card processor.
  • If you overpay, the IRS says it will issue a refund unless you owe a debt on your account. You can also choose to apply an overpayment to next year: see crediting an overpayment.
  • The IRS says frequency limits apply for card and cash payments; the page gives no figures here, so this guide gives none.
  • Federal tax deposits (employment taxes) cannot be paid by card.

Which tax year?

When you pay, choose the payment type and tax year the processor asks for; see due dates. Selecting the wrong year or type is a risk this page cannot assess.

FAQ

Does a card payment count as on time?

The IRS page says online and phone payments are accepted; it does not state a cut-off time, so we give none.

Is the fee the IRS's?

No; it goes to the processor.

What we could not verify

  • The numeric frequency limits for card payments (the IRS fee page does not give them; the linked page was not read).
  • Fee amounts after October 17, 2026 (fees can change; amounts above are as listed that day).
  • Cut-off times and posting dates for card payments (not stated on the page read).
  • How the tax deduction for card fees applies to an individual (the page speaks of businesses).

Sources